Updated Oct 22, 2026· 11 min read

Key takeaways

  • Ten USB-C hubs for MacBook Air compared by listing details: Anker, UGREEN, BENFEI, Melelink and more, with HDMI, power delivery and port notes for each.

The strongest all-round choice from this list is an Anker with 4K at 60Hz and a clear MacBook Air match: the 7-in-2 for video, or the 8-in-1 if you also need Ethernet. Smaller hubs from UGREEN, BENFEI and others cover HDMI, power and USB-A for less hassle, but most do not state a 4K refresh rate. We compared ten listings using only the product titles and published details, and noted where a title leaves something out. Check the compatibility line for your exact laptop before ordering any of them, because model years and port layouts differ.

Quick picks

  • 60Hz 4K stated: Anker 7-in-2, Melelink 8-in-2 and Anker 8-in-1
  • Only one with Ethernet: Anker 8-in-1
  • Most USB-A ports: UANTIN, UGREEN and BENFEI, with three each
  • Card readers: Melelink, Hiearcool, UANTIN, MOKiN, Anker 7-in-1 and Anker 8-in-1
  • Explicit M1 to M5 Air wording: UGREEN and Melelink

Comparison table

Model Key point from title Best for
Anker 7-in-2 4K@60Hz, Air M4/M5 Smooth video
Melelink 8-in-2 4K@60Hz, SD reader Photo workflows
Anker 5-in-1 85W PD, 2 powered USB-A Light carry
Hiearcool 7-in-1 4K@30Hz, 100W PD Document work
UANTIN 7-in-1 3 USB-A, card reader Older accessories
UGREEN 5-in-1 M1-M5 Air, 3 USB-A Apple households
MOKiN 7-in-1 USB-C data, SD/TF Camera cards
BENFEI 5-in-1 Silicone cable, 3 USB-A Travel
Anker 7-in-1 85W PD, SD/TF All-round Anker
Anker 8-in-1 Ethernet, 10Gbps USB-C Home office

The ten hubs in detail

Anker USB-C Hub 7-in-2 (4K@60Hz HDMI)

This Anker lists 4K at 60Hz over HDMI, Thunderbolt 4 compatibility, one USB-C port and two USB-A 5Gbps ports. The title names MacBook Pro and MacBook Air M4 and M5, and also warns that it does not work with “Neo”, so read the compatibility line against your own laptop. The 60Hz figure is the main thing that separates it from the 30Hz hubs further down.

Pros

  • 60Hz 4K output stated
  • Model names the M4 and M5 Air

Cons

  • Explicit incompatibility note for one device
  • No card reader in the title

Who it’s for: Air owners who want smoother 4K on an external display, and who will check the Neo note against their own laptop first.

Melelink packs HDMI 4K@60Hz, a Thunderbolt mention, USB-C and USB-A data ports and an SD card reader into one dongle, and its title lists MacBook Pro and Air from M1 to M5. The 2026-2018 year range is broad, which is reassuring but also generic, so confirm the port layout on your exact Air. The title does not give the USB speed.

Pros

  • SD card reader included
  • Wide MacBook coverage in the title

Cons

  • USB data speed not stated
  • Title gives no brand history or warranty detail

Who it’s for: Photographers who want a card slot plus 60Hz video in one hub, and who will confirm the port layout for their exact Air.

Anker USB C Hub 5-in-1

A compact option: HDMI with 4K, up to 85W of power delivery, one powered USB-C data port and two powered USB-A 3.0 ports at 5Gbps. It names MacBook Pro, MacBook Air and Dell. The title does not state the 4K refresh rate, which matters for a smooth desktop. With a short list of ports it is the most basic Anker here.

Pros

  • Power delivery figure stated
  • Small port count keeps it simple

Cons

  • 4K refresh not given
  • No SD slot or Ethernet

Who it’s for: Commuters who need HDMI, a charger passthrough and two USB-A ports, and prefer a small dongle that slips into a laptop sleeve.

Hiearcool 7-in-1 USB C Hub

The title says 4K@30Hz HDMI, 100W power delivery, 5Gbps USB 3.0 and SD and TF card readers inside an aluminum body, in Space Gray. At 30Hz, motion on the external screen looks choppier than on 60Hz models, which is fine for documents but less so for scrolling and video. Colour is a plus for matching a grey Air.

Pros

  • Both SD and TF readers listed
  • Space Gray finish named

Cons

  • 4K limited to 30Hz
  • One USB 3.0 port in the title

Who it’s for: Users on a 1080p or 4K office monitor who value a matching look and mostly work with static documents rather than fast motion.

UANTIN 7-in-1 USB C Hub

UANTIN lists 4K HDMI, 100W power delivery, a card reader and three USB-A ports. Its title mentions Mac Type C devices, MacBook Neo, Dell, HP and ASUS, but never says MacBook Air, so the match is looser than the others. Three USB-A ports are handy for older drives and receivers.

Pros

  • Three USB-A ports
  • Card reader included

Cons

  • MacBook Air not named in the title
  • 4K refresh rate not stated

Who it’s for: Buyers with several older USB-A accessories, after confirming Air support, since a spare port often matters more than any extra speed.

UGREEN USB C Hub 5 in 1

UGREEN gives 4K HDMI, 100W power delivery and three USB-A data ports. The title covers MacBook Pro and Air from M1 to M5, plus iPad Pro, iMac and an iPhone 17 Pro line. With broad Apple device mentions, it is clearly aimed at Apple users, though the 4K refresh rate is again left out.

Pros

  • Explicit M1 to M5 Air coverage
  • Also lists iPad Pro and iMac

Cons

  • No card reader
  • 4K refresh not stated

Who it’s for: Apple households sharing one hub between an Air and an iPad, where the broad device list saves some guesswork.

MOKiN USB C Hub 7 in 1

MOKiN lists HDMI, SD and TF readers, a USB-C data port, 100W power delivery and two USB 3.0 ports, with MacBook Pro and Air, Dell XPS and Lenovo ThinkPad named. The title says HDMI but not 4K or the refresh rate. The mix of card readers and a USB-C data port is the selling point.

Pros

  • USB-C data port plus two USB 3.0
  • Card readers both listed

Cons

  • HDMI resolution not stated
  • Fewer USB-A ports than some rivals

Who it’s for: People who plug in a USB-C drive and a camera card regularly, and who can live without a stated HDMI refresh rate.

BENFEI USB C Hub 5-in-1

BENFEI advertises certified 4K HDMI, 100W power delivery and three USB-A ports, with a silicone cable and an aluminum case. The word Certified is the seller’s, so check what body certified it on the page. It names MacBook Pro and Air, iPad Pro, iMac and iPhone 15 Pro. A flexible silicone cable may sit better in a bag than a stiff one.

Pros

  • Silicone cable noted
  • Three USB-A ports

Cons

  • “Certified” claim needs checking
  • No card reader

Who it’s for: Travellers who want a bendy cable and basic ports without extras, and who will verify the certification claim first.

Anker USB C Hub 7-in-1 (85W PD)

The second Anker 7-in-1 lists 4K HDMI, one USB-C and two USB-A ports at 5Gbps, 85W max power delivery and SD and TF slots. The title adds that a charger is not included, which is useful to know. Compared with the 7-in-2 above, it adds card slots but states no 60Hz figure.

Pros

  • Card slots included
  • Charger-not-included note is clear

Cons

  • 4K refresh not stated
  • Only 5Gbps on the USB-C data port

Who it’s for: Anyone wanting card reading and a charging passthrough from a familiar brand, who does not need a stated 4K refresh rate.

Anker 8-in-1 USB-C Hub with Ethernet

The only listing with Ethernet. It adds 4K@60Hz HDMI, 85W max power delivery, a 10Gbps USB-C data port, two USB-A ports and microSD and SD readers. The title says USB C laptops, MacBook Pro, XPS and iPad, and does not name the Air, though the port type suggests it should fit. Wired internet helps with video calls on unreliable Wi-Fi.

Pros

  • Ethernet plus 60Hz 4K
  • 10Gbps USB-C data port

Cons

  • MacBook Air not named in the title
  • Largest dongle in the group

Who it’s for: Remote workers who want a wired connection and fast storage on one hub, and who have a desk with room for a larger dongle.

How we picked these

We began with listings whose titles name a USB-C hub or multiport adapter and mention MacBook or MacBook Air compatibility. Then we compared the ports, power delivery and display figures each title states, and noted what is missing. Our basis is published specifications, manufacturer documentation and buyer reviews. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. Where a title is vague, we say so instead of guessing. We also grouped the three Anker hubs by what each title adds, since the names alone are easy to confuse.

What to look for in a USB-C hub for a MacBook Air

Count your own ports first

A hub is only useful if the single port it uses leaves you something to spare. Look at the sides of your Air and note how many USB-C ports it has and where. If one is tied up by the hub, the other becomes your charger or a second device. Hubs with power delivery pass-through let the charger plug into the hub itself, which frees a port.

HDMI: resolution and refresh

Resolution and refresh are different things. A hub that says 4K at 30Hz can show a sharp picture, but the cursor and scrolling look less smooth than at 60Hz. Titles that only say 4K leave the refresh rate unknown, so look for the number on the listing or in the manual before you plan on a high-resolution monitor.

Power delivery is a ceiling, not a guarantee

The 85W and 100W figures are the maximum the hub can pass through to the laptop, not what your Air will draw. Use a charger that matches or exceeds what your laptop needs, and expect some heat in compact aluminum bodies. Worked example: a 5-in-1 hub with three USB-A ports, HDMI and pass-through charging covers a mouse, a flash drive and one monitor, which suits most desks.

Keep a note of the ports you plug in on a normal day. If the answer is a mouse, a drive and a monitor, a five-port hub is plenty; if it is a card reader, a wired network and two drives, you are shopping for the larger dongles.

USB speed and card readers

Many titles list 5Gbps USB-A ports, which are fine for keyboards, mice and most drives. A 10Gbps USB-C port, as on the Anker 8-in-1, helps with faster external SSDs. If you shoot photos, an SD or microSD slot saves carrying a separate reader.

Compatibility wording and cables

Read the exact device names. Two titles here mention “Neo”, one to say it will not work, another to say it will. A silicone cable, like the one on the BENFEI, is a little kinder to a bag, while an attached aluminum body can run warm under a heavy load.

Mistakes buyers make

People often buy on port count alone, forgetting that a 4K refresh rate of 30Hz can feel laggy. Another mistake is trusting a long list of laptop names without checking the one that applies. Buyers also forget to buy a charger sized for the hub’s passthrough, or place a warm aluminum dongle where it cannot breathe. Finally, avoid stacking several hubs, since each one adds a failure point. A last slip is assuming that a long port list means high speeds; many ports share the same 5Gbps path, so the busiest hub is not always the fastest one.

Verdict

For most MacBook Air owners, an Anker 7-in-2 or UGREEN 5-in-1 covers the daily needs: HDMI, power and USB-A. Pick whichever fits your daily ports. Choose the Anker 8-in-1 if you want Ethernet and faster storage, and the Melelink or MOKiN if card slots matter most. Whatever you pick, match the title’s compatibility wording to your laptop and keep the return window handy for the first week of use.

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Will a USB-C hub slow down a MacBook Air?

A hub adds no processing load, but all the ports share the bandwidth of one connection. Plugging in a fast SSD, a monitor and a card reader at once can mean each gets less. Most daily use, such as a mouse, a keyboard and an external display, is well within what the listed ports offer. For heavy file transfers, use the fastest data port on the hub.

Can a MacBook Air charge through the hub?

Most listings here include power delivery pass-through, with figures such as 85W or 100W max. That means your charger plugs into the hub and power flows to the laptop. You still need a charger that supplies enough power for the Air, and some power is used by the hub itself, so charging may be a little slower with several devices attached.

What does 4K@30Hz versus 4K@60Hz mean?

The first figure is the resolution; the second is how many times per second the picture refreshes. At 30Hz, a 4K desktop is fine for static documents, but the mouse pointer and scrolling can feel choppy. At 60Hz, motion looks smoother. If your listing only says 4K, ask the seller or check the manual before assuming a 60Hz refresh rate.

Is Ethernet worth having on a MacBook hub?

Not for most people, because Wi-Fi works well at home. Ethernet helps in offices with unreliable wireless, for video calls, or when moving big files over a network. Among these ten listings only the Anker 8-in-1 includes an Ethernet port, so if you want a wired connection, that is the only one to shortlist from this group.

Is a cheaper no-name USB-C hub safe to use?

Generic hubs vary. Look for clear port specifications, a stated power delivery figure and a warranty. Be cautious with hubs that claim unusually high power or speed figures without details. Avoid running them hot or covered, and replace any hub that becomes unusually warm or whose cable is damaged. A known brand with documentation is usually the lower-risk option.

G
Graaphene Editorial Team
We compare specs, materials and verified owner reviews before a product earns a spot. Rankings are never paid.
Affiliate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Prices accurate as of the date shown.
10 Best USB-C Hubs for MacBook Air (October…Check price on Amazon